Monday, April 14, 2014

New Release Round-Up: April 14-20, 2014

Young Adult


Don't Look Back
by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Release date: April 15, 2014
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook
Pages: 384
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Suggested tags: young adult, mystery, thriller



From Goodreads:
"Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if
not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?"


The Geography of You and Me
by Jennifer E. Smith

Release date: April 15, 2014
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook
Pages: 352
Publisher: Poppy
Suggested tags: young adult, romance, contemporary



From Goodreads:
"Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they're rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen's relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and -- finally -- a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith's new novel shows that the center of the world isn't necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.
"

Other YA new releases for this week:



Middle Grade


The Forbidden Library
by Django Wexler

Release date: April 15, 2014
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook
Pages: 373
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Suggested tags: middle grade, fantasy



From Goodreads:
"The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.
"


Welcome to Dog Beach
by Lisa Greenwald

Release date: April 15, 2014
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook, audiobook
Pages: 272
Publisher: Amulet Books
Suggested tags: middle grade, realistic fiction



From Goodreads:
"Eleven-year-old Remy loves Seagate, the island where her grandmother had a house and where her family spends every summer vacation. But this year's different. Remy misses her dog, Danish, who recently passed away. The usual Seagate traditions don't feel the same?and neither does her relationship with her two best friends, Micayla and Bennett. Micayla's family is moving to Seagate year-round, and she's spending more time with the year-round kids. Bennett's doing ?boy stuff? with new kid Calvin and his snobby sister Claire. Remy takes comfort in the company of Dog Beach?which is where she hatches her plan to bring her friends closer and recapture the Seagate magic. This start of a new series is filled with summer treats, activities, and the spirit of friendship and invention that are Greenwald's trademarks."

Other Middle Grade new releases for this week:

No comments:

Post a Comment