Monday, January 19, 2015

New Release Round-Up: January 19-25, 2015

Young Adult


Alex As Well
by Alyssa Brugman

Release date: January 20, 2015
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook
Pages: 224
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Suggested tags: young adult, realistic fiction, LGBT



From Goodreads:
"Alex is ready for things to change, in a big way. Everyone seems to think she’s a boy, but for Alex the whole boy/girl thing isn’t as simple as either/or, and when she decides girl is closer to the truth, no one knows how to react, least of all her parents. Undeterred, Alex begins to create a new identity for herself: ditching one school, enrolling in another, and throwing out most of her clothes. But the other Alex—the boy Alex—has a lot to say about that. 

Heartbreaking and droll in equal measures,
Alex As Well is a brilliantly told story of exploring gender and sexuality, navigating friendships, and finding a place to belong."


Twisted Fate
by Norah Olson

Release date: January 20, 2015
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook, audiobook
Pages: 272
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Suggested tags: young adult, mystery, thriller



From Goodreads:
"When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney's mind, Graham's odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.

Perfect for fans of Michelle Hodkin, and E. Lockhart’s
We Were Liars, Twisted Fate is an unputdownable novel, teeming with suspense."

Other YA new releases for this week:



Middle Grade


Story Thieves
by James Riley

Release date: January 20, 2015
Available as: hardcover, Kindle edition, ebook
Pages: 400
Publisher: Aladdin
Suggested tags: middle grade, fantasy



First in the Story Thieves series. From Goodreads:
"Life is boring when you live in the real world, instead of starring in your own book series. Owen knows that better than anyone, what with the real world’s homework and chores.

But everything changes the day Owen sees the impossible happen—his classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the library. It turns out Bethany’s half-fictional and has been searching every book she can find for her missing father, a fictional character.

Bethany can’t let anyone else learn her secret, so Owen makes her a deal: All she has to do is take him into a book in Owen’s favorite Kiel Gnomenfoot series, and he’ll never say a word. Besides, visiting the book might help Bethany find her father…

…Or it might just destroy the Kiel Gnomenfoot series, reveal Bethany’s secret to the entire world, and force Owen to live out Kiel Gnomenfoot’s final (very final) adventure.
"

Other Middle Grade new releases for this week:

No comments:

Post a Comment